MY DEMENTED DIARY

DANGER: HEAVY BLASPHEMY

NO RELIGION IS SAFE ON THESE PREMISES

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SACRILEGE TO ALL CREEDS

September 14, 2014 - - - 6:13 a.m.

Feast of The Exaltation of The Holy Cross

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Oh by the way, folks,
oldest entries are deleted
to keep the total entry
count at 666 because
that number is sure to
rile up somebody who
sorely needs it.

GUEST BOOK

My more serious diary:
A Walk Through the
Valley of the Shadow

My Facebook Page

Today we celebrate the Feast of The Exaltation of The Holy Cross.

Here's the story: In 335 AD, Helena, the mother of Tin Pot Tyrant (fatuously styled "Emperor") Constantine, went roaming round and about Palestine arbitrarily picking out places here and there and designating them to be important places in the life of the fictional super-hero that our Jesus legend is based on. So for that, we've got a feast day!

So one of these days I'm gonna go up to Baltimore and arbitrarily pick out some places where I saw Cramshaw (who's invisible all except for his shoes) hanging upside down from phone wires. Then a coupla thousand years from now, when everybody believes that Cramshaw was the One True God, they'll have a nice feast day.

Well anyhow, it rained a whole bunch yesterday. I went up to the Health Fair and yakked a bit with some of the folks I knew, and Calvert Memorial Hospital was doing a Lung Function Screening and so I did that and found that I have mildly impaired lung function, which I suppose I probably coulda guessed anyhow.

And so today I just found out that our Adopt-A-Highway escapade is canceled because they're doing a whole buncha road work on our stretch of highway so it's sorta pointless to pretend to pick up trash. So I suppose I'll join my fellow True Believers for our canonically appointed weekly sky-zombie hallucination orgy.

Happy Hallucinating!

OrneryPest

Signs of life
on distant planets
beyond DiaryLand

Pam's House Blend
Philosophy Talk
Bad Astronomy
Black Sun Journal
Jim's Journal
The Intersection
The New Colonist
Skepchick
Autumn Leaves


The Latest and Greatest Five:

Gustave Eiffel
Saint John of the Cross
Heinrich Heine
Frank Sinatra
Rita Moreno

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!