MY DEMENTED DIARY

DANGER: HEAVY BLASPHEMY

NO RELIGION IS SAFE ON THESE PREMISES

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SACRILEGE TO ALL CREEDS

March 12, 2013 - - - 7:20 a.m.

Liza Minnelli

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Oh by the way, folks,
oldest entries are deleted
to keep the total entry
count at 666 because
that number is sure to
rile up somebody who
sorely needs it.

GUEST BOOK

My more serious diary:
A Walk Through the
Valley of the Shadow

My Facebook Page

Today we wish a fond Happy Birthday to Liza Minnelli, born in 1946. She's an actress (in case anybody didn't know).

A few days ago as MrsPest and I were watching one of these cops-and-robbers shows and I was gagging over that horrible smudge-pot make-up job they did to that poor unfortunate actress to turn her into the Penelope Garcia character, MrsPest noticed that my big toe was sticking out of the big hole in my shoe.

So yesterday I decided to buy a new pair. I strolled in and asked if they still sell this same style and the salesman says well, they've changed the style, but here's what we've got. So I said okay, have you got it in black, size 11. So he brought out a pair, I tried them on, they fit the same as the old ones.

So I strolled over to the payment booth and paid. He handed me this enormously long sales receipt, which I measured when I got home. Slightly over 16 inches! Hey folks, how much paper does it take to say "Footlocker Inc. One Pair Nike Air Max $XXX.XX"?

Well anyhow, they fit the same as the old ones, so I'm happy. But you'd think Footlocker Inc would save a bundle on their paper bill if they printed shorter receipts. But maybe somebody else is paying for their paper.

Sounds like what the famous economist Arthur Pigou was talking about when he said something about how dumping part of your costs onto somebody else's budget leads to inefficiency.

Well anyhow, today it's raining. That's fine. I've got nothing scheduled for the day anyhow.

Happy Rain Dancing!

OrneryPest

Signs of life
on distant planets
beyond DiaryLand

Pam's House Blend
Philosophy Talk
Bad Astronomy
Black Sun Journal
Jim's Journal
The Intersection
The New Colonist
Skepchick
Autumn Leaves


The Latest and Greatest Five:

Gustave Eiffel
Saint John of the Cross
Heinrich Heine
Frank Sinatra
Rita Moreno

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!