MY DEMENTED DIARY

DANGER: HEAVY BLASPHEMY

NO RELIGION IS SAFE ON THESE PREMISES

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SACRILEGE TO ALL CREEDS

September 11, 2013 - - - 7:07 a.m.

Michael Canty

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Oh by the way, folks,
oldest entries are deleted
to keep the total entry
count at 666 because
that number is sure to
rile up somebody who
sorely needs it.

GUEST BOOK

My more serious diary:
A Walk Through the
Valley of the Shadow

My Facebook Page

Today we make fun of Michael Canty, a preacher who refused to perform a wedding because the bride's dress failed to conform to his high and mighty standard of insufferable prudery. At the last minute! After big bucks were spent getting the whole act together!

And his religion tries to claim that atheists have no moral compass.

I wonder if Jesus was really an atheist. Hey, didn't he turn water into wine so the debaucherous low-lifes at the wedding feast could have more fun?

Now I realize all of Jesus's miracles were undoubtedly mythical. And for that matter, Jesus's historical existence is most likely mythical. But mythology has a purpose. It's supposed to be an enactment of what we, as a society, regard as valuable.

And I think fun and happiness are more valuable than somebody's warped sense of ritual purity. I agree with Jesus. I'd rather, if I could, turn water into wine instead of hafta announce, "Sorry folks, the bar is closed," before anybody has had more than just a taste.

And I'd rather see a bride wear her own choice of wedding dress rather than conform to somebody else's hidebound preference.

Well anyhow, yesterday was a sorta good day except that it got sorta hot. Today looks like it might get a bit hotter. I'm trying to pretend that 70 isn't very old and that I can still tolerate lotsa heat, but reality keeps getting in the way.

Happy Reality!

OrneryPest

Signs of life
on distant planets
beyond DiaryLand

Pam's House Blend
Philosophy Talk
Bad Astronomy
Black Sun Journal
Jim's Journal
The Intersection
The New Colonist
Skepchick
Autumn Leaves


The Latest and Greatest Five:

Gustave Eiffel
Saint John of the Cross
Heinrich Heine
Frank Sinatra
Rita Moreno

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!