MY DEMENTED DIARY

DANGER: HEAVY BLASPHEMY

NO RELIGION IS SAFE ON THESE PREMISES

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SACRILEGE TO ALL CREEDS

December 07, 2013 - - - 7:13 a.m.

Bigger Than You Are

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Oh by the way, folks,
oldest entries are deleted
to keep the total entry
count at 666 because
that number is sure to
rile up somebody who
sorely needs it.

GUEST BOOK

My more serious diary:
A Walk Through the
Valley of the Shadow

My Facebook Page

Today we make fun of everybody who tries to drive something bigger than what they know what they're doing. Yes, folks, take a training course in tank driving before you actually drive one.

Yes, folks, during my career one of my duties was to read and thoroughly understand the NATOPS manual (equivalent to a car owner's manual) for the P-3C airplane. The purpose of this exercise was to enable me to write test plans that I had some confidence that the maneuvers I was asking for were at least theoretically possible. I was under no delusion whatsoever that merely reading the manual would enable me to fly the airplane without further instruction.

Not to mention that all my test plans still had to pass the scrutiny of both the project pilot and the Chief Test Pilot of the directorate.

And the same goes for a 50-ton battle tank, I would imagine. Especially one you don't even know the maintenance history about, so you've got no idea what condition it's in.

Well anyhow, last night was the first night of the Annual Solomons Christmas Walk. Volunteers lit candles along the walkways. It was raining. The candles kept getting doused out. The volunteers kept going around re-lighting them. They kept on getting re-doused back out.

And it looks like tonight is gonna be more of the same.

Happy Saturday!

OrneryPest

Signs of life
on distant planets
beyond DiaryLand

Pam's House Blend
Philosophy Talk
Bad Astronomy
Black Sun Journal
Jim's Journal
The Intersection
The New Colonist
Skepchick
Autumn Leaves


The Latest and Greatest Five:

Gustave Eiffel
Saint John of the Cross
Heinrich Heine
Frank Sinatra
Rita Moreno

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!