MY DEMENTED DIARY

DANGER: HEAVY BLASPHEMY

NO RELIGION IS SAFE ON THESE PREMISES

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SACRILEGE TO ALL CREEDS

October 21, 2014 - - - 6:48 a.m.

Dizzy Gillespie

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Oh by the way, folks,
oldest entries are deleted
to keep the total entry
count at 666 because
that number is sure to
rile up somebody who
sorely needs it.

GUEST BOOK

My more serious diary:
A Walk Through the
Valley of the Shadow

My Facebook Page

Today we celebrate the birthday of Dizzy Gillespie, born in 1917. He was a musician, primarily a jazz trumpeter.

Yesterday I was commemorating to myself that back when I lived in Kansas (fall of 1965 to spring of 1967) a man's worthiness was reckoned by how many verses of Charlotte the Harlot the Cowpuncher's Whore you could sing from memory without checking your cheat sheet. I was never very good at it.

So I wondered whether the song ever got onto the Intermuck so I did a Google search. Sure enough, there are several wimpy mostly-sanitized versions around.

The original song was not so much a real song as it was simply an exercise in cramming a maximum density of dirty language into a lyrical verse form.

So anyhow, it so happens that Nelson the Nissan has a covered-wagon canopy made by Cap City, and the hydraulic tailgate-open-holders are getting weak, so I wondered if there's a Cap City place around that might be able to repair or replace them.

So later in the afternoon I did a Google search for Cap City. As soon as I typed in the "C" the first selection of their drop-down menu was Charlotte the Harlot the Cowpuncher's Whore! Hey, it's nice to be remembered, but why would they think I'd wanna search for the same thing again?

Well anyhow, nothing much else happened yesterday. The chiroquacker gave me a new and fun knee-jerk, which, as far as I can tell, accomplished nothing. The tron undergrounders are still working up the road a few blocks.

And today it looks like nothing's gonna happen until late afternoon when it'll rain.

Happy Tuesday!

OrneryPest

Signs of life
on distant planets
beyond DiaryLand

Pam's House Blend
Philosophy Talk
Bad Astronomy
Black Sun Journal
Jim's Journal
The Intersection
The New Colonist
Skepchick
Autumn Leaves


The Latest and Greatest Five:

Gustave Eiffel
Saint John of the Cross
Heinrich Heine
Frank Sinatra
Rita Moreno

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!